Updating MiniMyth with CVS Myth TV

Share your success stories with others

Moderator: Pablo

Post Reply
Nem
Contributor
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 12:09 am
Location: Cambridge, UK

Updating MiniMyth with CVS Myth TV

Post by Nem » Fri Oct 31, 2003 10:58 pm

Hi Guys,

A quick HOWTO to save us all some time (until Larry creates the GAR system for building MiniMyth :-) ).

Here is a little scriptet to update your rootfs with all the MythTV files.

To use it first download and build the CVS version of Mythtv on your build PC(instructions on the Mythtv site). http://www.mythtv.org/docs/mythtv-HOWTO-5.html

Next cd into the base dir of your MiniMyth rootfs. Just to be clear, this dir will be the root directory of MiniMyth when it boots.

Next run this script.

I usually run this as root, I'm not sure if "ln" will function correctly as another user.

---8<-----8<-----8<-----8<-----8<-----8<-----8<-----8<-----8<-----8<--

cp -fva /usr/local/bin/mythfrontend usr/local/bin/mythfrontend
cp -fva /usr/local/lib/libmyth* usr/local/lib/.
cp -fRva /usr/local/share/mythtv/* usr/local/share/mythtv/.
cp -fRva /usr/local/lib/mythtv/* usr/local/lib/mythtv/.
cp -fRva /usr/lib/liblirc* usr/lib/.
cp -fRva /usr/lib/libmp3lame* usr/lib/.
cd usr/local/share/mythtv/
rm mysql.txt
ln -s /var/root/mysql.txt mysql.txt
cd ../../../../

---8<-----8<-----8<-----8<-----8<-----8<-----8<-----8<-----8<-----8<--

Now you can cram your rootfs, copy it to you tftp dir, and away you go.

I hope this helps,

Regards,

Darren

lmatter
Contributor
Posts: 632
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2003 5:13 pm
Location: California, USA

Post by lmatter » Sat Nov 01, 2003 6:00 pm

Thanks for doing this. A few comments.

mythfrontend is a symlink that switches depending on whether you have HW MPEG2 decoding enabled. If you always use one or the other, you could do it this way.
Not sure if you need the liblirc part.
Also, you will probably want to run ldconfig (chrooted).

Larry

timdp
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 3:25 am

Post by timdp » Fri Jan 23, 2004 6:23 am

mythfrontend is a symlink that switches depending on whether you have HW MPEG2 decoding enabled. If you always use one or the other, you could do it this way.
How would I go about making sure the HW MPEG2 decoding is enable on my newly updated version of MYTHFRONTEND.

I followed these steps to upgrade earlier tonight but I now have stuttering audio, so I am assuming possibly the HW MPEG2 decoding is not enabled in my upgraded front end.

lmatter
Contributor
Posts: 632
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2003 5:13 pm
Location: California, USA

Post by lmatter » Fri Jan 23, 2004 7:40 am

make sure you have enabled the Via HWSlice stuff in settings.pro. The easiest way to tell if you're making use of the HW MPEG2 decoder is that your OSD's (like when you pause) will be grey, not blue-ish.

timdp
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 3:25 am

Post by timdp » Sat Jan 24, 2004 4:06 am

Ok I've uncommented the lines in settings.pro and recompiled but it appears I'm still not getting the HW Decoder to work. I still have stuttering video and my pause is showing with a blue background still. I am uncertain what else I need to check.

lmatter
Contributor
Posts: 632
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2003 5:13 pm
Location: California, USA

Post by lmatter » Sat Jan 24, 2004 4:22 am

If you grabbed CVS from today, I heard it was broken (and the OSD is now blue, not grey). You might want to use CVS from the 21'rst, which I have put up here (and with that the OSD will be grey).

Larry

Post Reply