boot speed

Help with booting MiniMyth

Moderator: Pablo

redcane

boot speed

Post by redcane » Sun Jul 29, 2007 9:36 am

I've done a bit of searching around the forums, to find out if there are things to speed up booting. I've read about the theme caching, so that we don't regenerate it on each boot (although I haven't been able to get it to save to NFS yet....), but this is a small part of my boot time.

My boot time is just over 5 mins. Probably 20 seconds of that is BIOS, and it spends most of it's time before opening X.

Is this unusual? Have I done something unusually stupid? Is there anything I can do to speed it up?

It's a bit of a wait to watch anything, and I don't want to leave it on all the time, as I'm heading to a solar powered house, and I'd like to save power anywhere I can.

razza

Post by razza » Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:12 pm

Hi, I have just got my system working and a complete newbie - so not tweaked yet, so i'm probably not the best benchmark.

Anyway, my system (EPIA M10000 with 512MB RAM using Minimyth RAM) takes just over 10 minutes to boot, the longest delay was 'Configuring Video' at approx 4 mins.

I'm hoping that this can be reduced dramatically. Would be good to hear from more seasoned/expert users.

Ray

redcane

Post by redcane » Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:19 pm

I forgot to mention, my system is an EPIA Sp13000 with 1Gb RAM, booting with an NFS root. It found NFS seems faster than a RAM boot, because it doesn't need to load whole disk image via tftp as a first step.

Mine seems to spend a lot of time "Configuring Video" as well.... and I'm not sure exactly what is being done at this point.

I'm guessing not a lot of users are turning their maxchines off if this is indicative of the general boot time. Even with this boot time however, I'd rather wait for it to start up, than leave it on.