boot speed

Help with booting MiniMyth

Moderator: Pablo

lofty69
Contributor
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 5:46 pm
Location: Watching Mythtv via Minimyth

Post by lofty69 » Tue Aug 07, 2007 12:57 pm

1min 5 secs from power on to myth menu using a compact flash :D.

This is using b2, so will have to try b6 see if it's any quicker.

Hmm..that's what I get for trying to go faster... 27b6 no longer boots.. :roll:

redcane
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 2:09 pm

Post by redcane » Sat Aug 25, 2007 5:22 am

Just setup v28, and it boots in 3:00, which is great. Some 30 seconds of that is in the BIOS too, so I need to see if I can configure the BIOS for faster booting.

My last hurdle is saving the themecache. So I'm going to scour the forums for a bit now... ;-)

osy
Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 11:06 pm
Location: Finland

Post by osy » Thu Sep 06, 2007 8:58 pm

I just clocked my EPIA M9000: 70s pwr-to-menu. Not bad?

Ver. 0.20.2-29, RAM boot & Iulius theme

m_kane
Contributor
Posts: 377
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 8:32 pm

Post by m_kane » Sat Sep 15, 2007 6:09 pm

40sec from power button to menu :)
svn 14359-30, ram network boot
asus mb + sempron 3200+ + 1GT ram + 1000Mbs network

migmog
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 7:32 pm
Location: Scotland

Post by migmog » Thu Nov 01, 2007 2:12 pm

13 seconds from pressing power button to MythTV menu.

... using suspend/resume. Yes I know it's not really booting, but hey! I don't have to any more...

Now we just have to fix myth so I don't get 15 seconds of blank screen between selecting a recording and have it play. That's just embarrassing.

Post Reply