Tcode not configured in 0.21-40 release

Help with booting MiniMyth

Moderator: Pablo

Post Reply
Kirse
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 5:37 pm

Tcode not configured in 0.21-40 release

Post by Kirse » Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:49 pm

Hi,

after upgrading my backend to 0.21 I upgraded my frontend to 0.21-40 and changed my minimyth.conf according to the changelog.
Now it stops while booting with the following in /var/log/minimyth*:

error: 'TCode' (or 'MM_DHCP_TCODE') not configured.
error: check '/var/log/minimyth.err.log' for details.

I explicitly configured the MM_DHCP_TCODE option with MM_DHCP_TCODE='Europe/Berlin'
in my minimyth.conf

Any Ideas,

Thanx

MythLegend
Contributor
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 7:46 pm

Post by MythLegend » Tue Mar 11, 2008 1:24 am

Hi, I also tried upgrading the frontend to 0.21.0-41 and get the same problem.

Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 4182
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am
Location: La Jolla
Contact:

Post by Pablo » Tue Mar 11, 2008 1:31 am

Looks like I broke it. I will fix it in the next build. Until then, adding it to the boot line (putting MM_DHCP_TCODE="Europe/Berlin" on the APPEND line) should work.
MiniMyth running on an Acer ApireRevo 3610 and a Zotac ZBOX-ID80-U. Find out more at my MythTV page.

Kirse
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 5:37 pm

Post by Kirse » Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:10 am

That did it for me, thank you for this fast reply!

MythLegend
Contributor
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 7:46 pm

Post by MythLegend » Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:17 am

the append sorted it for me also, did the same for the MM_DHCP_NTP_SERVERS.
Thanks.

Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 4182
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am
Location: La Jolla
Contact:

Post by Pablo » Tue Mar 11, 2008 3:16 am

I a glad that worked.

Sadly, the bug is the result of a purely cosmetic change. I renamed the files that process the configuration file so that the file names match the prefix of the configuration variables they process (e.g. the file '/etc/rc.d/init.d/conf.d/dhcp' was rename '/etc/rc.d/init.d/conf.d/MM_DHCP'). For reasons that I cannot explain, I updated the file names almost everywhere except at least one place. This one place in '/etc/rc.d/init.d/conf' was just below three lines where I did make the change, so I am not sure how I missed it, but I did. As a result, the script was not writing out the processed MM_DHCP variables.
MiniMyth running on an Acer ApireRevo 3610 and a Zotac ZBOX-ID80-U. Find out more at my MythTV page.

lishen2
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 3:13 pm

Post by lishen2 » Mon Aug 04, 2008 3:21 pm

Hi , Pablo
Why didn't you just create a symbol link of "dhcp" named MM_DHCP to solve this problem?

Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 4182
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am
Location: La Jolla
Contact:

Post by Pablo » Mon Aug 04, 2008 4:47 pm

lishen2 wrote:Hi , Pablo
Why didn't you just create a symbol link of "dhcp" named MM_DHCP to solve this problem?
The reason that I renamed the configuration processing files was so that the file names matched the names of the configuration variables that they processed. Having a symbolic link from the old name to the new name and continuing to use the old name in the script would have meant that the script contained the less intuitive old name.

Also, changing the name in the script was as easy as creating a symbolic link.
MiniMyth running on an Acer ApireRevo 3610 and a Zotac ZBOX-ID80-U. Find out more at my MythTV page.

Post Reply