Audio won't load on Pundit P1-AH2 after upgrade to 0.20.2-45

Help with booting MiniMyth

Moderator: Pablo

Post Reply
ph0t0nix
Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 5:36 pm
Location: Europe

Audio won't load on Pundit P1-AH2 after upgrade to 0.20.2-45

Post by ph0t0nix » Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:16 am

Today I decided to upgrade my ram-minimyth frontend from 0.20-25 to 0.20.2-45 as a first step to upgrading all my machines to mythTV 0.21.

The problem I came across is that minimyth stops with the following error while booting: error: the audio driver does not appear to be loaded.

In minimyth.conf AUDIO section I didn't have any of the options set at first. By now I've tried 0 and 1 for both card number and device number. To no avail.

I do hear a 'pop' from the speakers when the snd_hda_intel module is loaded. amixer gives an error when I run it: amixer: Mixer default load error: No such file or directory.
This is some other (hopefully) relevant output:

Code: Select all

 
# cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [NVidia         ]: HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
                      HDA NVidia at 0xfe028000 irq 16

# cat /proc/asound/pcm 
00-01: ALC861 Digital : ALC861 Digital : playback 1
00-00: ALC861 Analog : ALC861 Analog : playback 1 : capture 1

# cat /etc/asound.conf 
################################################################################
#
################################################################################

pcm.!default {
    type plug
    slave {
        pcm "hw:0,0"
        rate 48000
    }
}

ctl.!default {
    type hw           
    card 0
}

# cat /proc/asound/oss/devices 
  3: [0- 0]: digital audio
  4: [0- 0]: digital audio
 12: [0- 1]: digital audio
From lspci:

Code: Select all

00:10.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP51 High Definition Audio (rev a2)

# lspci -mn
00:00.0 "0500" "10de" "02f0" -ra2 "1043" "81c0"
00:00.1 "0500" "10de" "02fa" -ra2 "1043" "81c0"
00:00.2 "0500" "10de" "02fe" -ra2 "1043" "81c0"
00:00.3 "0500" "10de" "02f8" -ra2 "1043" "81c0"
00:00.4 "0500" "10de" "02f9" -ra2 "1043" "81c0"
00:00.5 "0500" "10de" "02ff" -ra2 "1043" "81c0"
00:00.6 "0500" "10de" "027f" -ra2 "1043" "81c0"
00:00.7 "0500" "10de" "027e" -ra2 "1043" "81c0"
00:05.0 "0300" "10de" "0240" -ra2 "1043" "81cd"
00:09.0 "0500" "10de" "0270" -ra2 "1043" "81c0"
00:0a.0 "0601" "10de" "0260" -ra3 "1043" "81c0"
00:0a.1 "0c05" "10de" "0264" -ra3 "1043" "81c0"
00:0a.2 "0500" "10de" "0272" -ra3 "1043" "81c0"
00:0b.0 "0c03" "10de" "026d" -ra3 -p10 "1043" "81c0"
00:0b.1 "0c03" "10de" "026e" -ra3 -p20 "1043" "81c0"
00:0d.0 "0101" "10de" "0265" -ra1 -p8a "f043" "81c0"
00:0e.0 "0101" "10de" "0266" -ra1 -p85 "1043" "81c0"
00:10.0 "0604" "10de" "026f" -ra2 -p01 "" ""
00:10.1 "0403" "10de" "026c" -ra2 "1043" "81cb"
00:14.0 "0680" "10de" "0269" -ra3 "1043" "816a"
00:18.0 "0600" "1022" "1100" "" ""
00:18.1 "0600" "1022" "1101" "" ""
00:18.2 "0600" "1022" "1102" "" ""
00:18.3 "0600" "1022" "1103" "" ""
01:03.0 "0c00" "1106" "3044" -rc0 -p10 "1043" "2a22"
Does anyone have an idea? MiniMyth used to work on this box. I also added the irqpoll option to the boot line in the PXE config file, but that doesn't seem to help either.
Last edited by ph0t0nix on Tue Apr 22, 2008 10:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 4182
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am
Location: La Jolla
Contact:

Post by Pablo » Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:37 am

Based on the output of 'lspci -mn', this looks like the ASUS M2NPV-VM. Am I correct?

If so, it is very odd. I have an ASUS M2NPV-VM (BIOS version 1001) and I have no problems with the audio.
MiniMyth running on an Acer ApireRevo 3610 and a Zotac ZBOX-ID80-U. Find out more at my MythTV page.

ph0t0nix
Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 5:36 pm
Location: Europe

Post by ph0t0nix » Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:45 am

Well the motherboard very similar to the M2NPV-VM, but on the board it says M2N8L. The Pundit P1-AH2 has a Realtek codec: ALC861, whereas the M2NPV-VM has an ADI AD1986A codec. So there is some difference.

Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 4182
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am
Location: La Jolla
Contact:

Post by Pablo » Sun Mar 30, 2008 2:14 am

When you boot in the -25 and -45 versions, is there anything about the audio in (e.g hda_codec) in /var/log/messages?

It appears that between the ALSA version in -25 and -45, they added a quirk for your motherboard.
MiniMyth running on an Acer ApireRevo 3610 and a Zotac ZBOX-ID80-U. Find out more at my MythTV page.

ph0t0nix
Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 5:36 pm
Location: Europe

Post by ph0t0nix » Sun Mar 30, 2008 4:51 pm

0.20.2-45: Nothing special about audio in /var/log/messages. Only four lines concerning the MM_AUDIO variable. (In this case I had no MM_AUDIO variable set in the config file.

0.20-25: /var/log/messages says:

Code: Select all

Mar 30 15:37:34 (none) local0.warn minimyth: unknown audio card. assuming audio card number is '0'.
Mar 30 15:37:34 (none) local0.warn minimyth: unknown audio device. assuming audio device number is '0'.
Mar 30 15:37:35 (none) local0.info minimyth: manual kernel module detection:
Mar 30 15:37:35 (none) local0.info minimyth:     motherboard vendor='ASUSTek Computer INC.', product='M2N8L' detected.
Some other outputs:

Code: Select all

$ cat /proc/asound/cards 
 0 [NVidia         ]: HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
                      HDA NVidia at 0xfe028000 irq 5

$ cat /proc/asound/pcm 
00-01: ALC861 Digital : ALC861 Digital : playback 1
00-00: ALC861 Analog : ALC861 Analog : playback 1 : capture 2

$ cat /proc/asound/devices 
  0: [ 0]   : control
 16: [ 0- 0]: digital audio playback
 17: [ 0- 1]: digital audio playback
 24: [ 0- 0]: digital audio capture
 33:        : timer

/etc/asound.conf is identical to the one in the first post. The same goes for the lspci outputs in the first post.
I did find that /proc/asound/card0 contained more entries in this case:

Code: Select all

$ ls /proc/asound/card0/
/proc/asound/card0/codec#0  /proc/asound/card0/pcm0p/
/proc/asound/card0/id       /proc/asound/card0/pcm1p/
/proc/asound/card0/pcm0c/
With 0.20.2-45 ony the codec#0 and id exist.

Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 4182
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am
Location: La Jolla
Contact:

Post by Pablo » Mon Mar 31, 2008 5:46 pm

I do not know what is broken. However, I have found several reports of problems. Unfortunately, when the problems have been "solved", nobody has explained what really solved it.

Anyway, I have uploaded a version (0.20.2-46b1) that it built with the out-of-tree rather than in-tree ALSA drivers. I did this on the off chance that something is broken in the in-tree drivers, but I do not hold out much hope. Could you give the version a try?
MiniMyth running on an Acer ApireRevo 3610 and a Zotac ZBOX-ID80-U. Find out more at my MythTV page.

ph0t0nix
Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 5:36 pm
Location: Europe

Post by ph0t0nix » Thu Apr 10, 2008 7:41 pm

I'm Sorry for not being able to reply earlier. I've been busy with work :D.

I tried ram-minimyth-0.20.2-46 today, but the results appear to be the same.

[Edit]
I've booted the machine with the Ubuntu Hardy beta Live CD and I had sound there (kernel 2.6.24-12), so I figure it used OSS there.

minimyth:

Code: Select all

cat /proc/asound/oss/devices 
  0: [0- 0]: mixer
  3: [0- 0]: digital audio
  4: [0- 0]: digital audio
 12: [0- 1]: digital audio

cat /proc/asound/oss/sndstat 
Sound Driver:3.8.1a-980706 (ALSA v1.0.16 emulation code)
Kernel: Linux lambik.karssen.org 2.6.24.4 #1 SMP Fri Apr 4 23:55:07 PDT 2008 i686
Config options: 0

Installed drivers: 
Type 10: ALSA emulation

Card config: 
HDA NVidia at 0xfe028000 irq 16

Audio devices:
0: ALC861 Analog (DUPLEX)

Synth devices: NOT ENABLED IN CONFIG

Midi devices: NOT ENABLED IN CONFIG

Timers:
7: system timer

Mixers:
0: Realtek ALC861

ubuntu:

Code: Select all

 cat /proc/asound/oss/devices 
  0: [0- 0]: mixer
  1:       : sequencer
  3: [0- 0]: digital audio
  4: [0- 0]: digital audio
  8:       : sequencer
 12: [0- 1]: digital audio

 cat /proc/asound/oss/sndstat 
Sound Driver:3.8.1a-980706 (ALSA v1.0.16 emulation code)
Kernel: Linux ubuntu 2.6.24-12-generic #1 SMP Wed Mar 12 23:01:54 UTC 2008 i686
Config options: 0

Installed drivers: 
Type 10: ALSA emulation

Card config: 
HDA NVidia at 0xfe028000 irq 16

Audio devices:
0: ALC861 Analog (DUPLEX)

Synth devices: NOT ENABLED IN CONFIG

Midi devices: NOT ENABLED IN CONFIG

Timers:
7: system timer

Mixers:
0: Realtek ALC861

Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 4182
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am
Location: La Jolla
Contact:

Post by Pablo » Fri Apr 11, 2008 2:19 pm

Does this mean that audio works when you use ALSA's OSS emulation but not native ALSA?

In case the quirk added to ALSA is the cause of the problem, the next stable build (-47) will have the quirk commented out. It should be uploaded some time today.
MiniMyth running on an Acer ApireRevo 3610 and a Zotac ZBOX-ID80-U. Find out more at my MythTV page.

Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 4182
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am
Location: La Jolla
Contact:

Post by Pablo » Fri Apr 11, 2008 5:44 pm

Does that mean that it works with ALSA's OSS emulation but not with native ALSA?

The latest build (-47) has the hack disabled. Could you give it a try?
MiniMyth running on an Acer ApireRevo 3610 and a Zotac ZBOX-ID80-U. Find out more at my MythTV page.

Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 4182
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am
Location: La Jolla
Contact:

Post by Pablo » Fri Apr 18, 2008 5:30 pm

Just a heads up. While -47 has the hack disabled, -48b1 does not.
MiniMyth running on an Acer ApireRevo 3610 and a Zotac ZBOX-ID80-U. Find out more at my MythTV page.

ph0t0nix
Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 5:36 pm
Location: Europe

Post by ph0t0nix » Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:12 pm

Pablo wrote:Does that mean that it works with ALSA's OSS emulation but not with native ALSA?

The latest build (-47) has the hack disabled. Could you give it a try?
I've tried 0.21.0-47 and 0.20.2-47 and both hung while loading the audio drivers.

However, when using 0.20.2-48b1 minimyth booted al the way :D. Unfortunately my remote control doesn't work. It's probably the same problem I described earlier (and the reason why I didn't upgrade to anything above 0.20-25). I guess I'll have to take some more time to sort that bug out.
But, for now, I'm happy I've got working sound :-)

Post Reply