Page 1 of 1

Hanging on boot

Posted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 12:41 am
by maynard
I am sure this is already in the forum but I can't seem to get around this. I have been running a stand alone Ubuntu Mythtv box for some time and have recently decided to put it in the basement and make it a stand alone backend and make a couple of silent frontends to put around the house. I bought a Jetway J7F5M1G2E-VHE 1.2Ghz to use.

I installed Mythbuntu easily on the machine, but ideally I would like to use MiniMyth on a compact flash card to make it completely silent. However I have tried and tried but cannot get the thing to complete a boot. At first it was hanging on the second DHCP configuration on the boot splash screen. I got past that by defining all the variables in minimyth.conf and now I am stuck again.

It will only get to "attempting to mount /minimyth" I have tried the latest test build, the latest stable build, and a couple of older builds, but I still get stopped at the same place. I have also tried the automatic build and the manual build both on linux and on windows machines and still nothing. I am sure it is something stupid I am missing. The IP is assigned and I can ping the machine but the only open port is FTP (21) and I cannot get anything to connect to it. I have tried a blank minimyth.conf and it won't get past dhcp, with just the DHCP settings it will get to where I am.

Please help......What am I missing......

Thanks in advance

Posted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 12:27 am
by Pablo
I can think of three possible causes: (1) the motherboard is not supported, (2) the partition containing the MiniMyth directory hierarchy is not labeled 'minimyth', and (3) MiniMyth is broken.

Given the motherboard's chipset, I believe that it is supported by MiniMyth. However, if you can provide the output of

Code: Select all

lspci -mn
then I can be sure.

How did you create the compact flash? Is the label on the partition containing MiniMyth 'minimyth'?

Posted: Tue Jul 01, 2008 7:26 am
by maynard
Well I think the problem is with DHCP not with the mounting. I forgot to turn the box off over night ant it actually got far enough to give me an error and I could telnet into it.

Here is the output from lspci -mn

00:00.0 "0600" "1106" "0324" -r03 "1106" "0324"
00:00.1 "0600" "1106" "1324" "" ""
00:00.2 "0600" "1106" "2324" "" ""
00:00.3 "0600" "1106" "3324" "" ""
00:00.4 "0600" "1106" "4324" "" ""
00:00.7 "0600" "1106" "7324" "" ""
00:01.0 "0604" "1106" "b198" "" ""
00:0f.0 "0101" "1106" "0581" -p8a "1106" "0581"
00:10.0 "0c03" "1106" "3038" -r90 "1106" "3038"
00:10.1 "0c03" "1106" "3038" -r90 "1106" "3038"
00:10.2 "0c03" "1106" "3038" -r90 "1106" "3038"
00:10.4 "0c03" "1106" "3104" -r90 -p20 "1106" "3104"
00:11.0 "0601" "1106" "8324" "1106" "8324"
00:11.7 "0600" "1106" "324e" "1106" "324e"
00:13.0 "0600" "1106" "324b" "" ""
00:13.1 "0604" "1106" "324a" -p01 "" ""
01:00.0 "0300" "1106" "3157" -r03 "1106" "3157"
02:05.0 "0200" "1106" "3119" -r11 "1106" "0110"
02:08.0 "0c00" "1106" "3044" -r80 -p10 "1106" "3044"
80:01.0 "0403" "1106" "3288" -r10 "1106" "3288"

I am not sure what all that is but UDHCPC has "sending discover....." over and over and over again. It is initially configuring DHCP correctly but when it actually almot booted it re assigned the ip to another ip address. Unfortunately, my cable model doesn't play well with either static ip addresses or an external dhcp server, which i initially tried with my mythbackend. So I am left with using the internal dhcp server of the cable modem/router.

I have tried sstting the dhcp variables in the boot parameters, and in the minimyth.conf, and in both but am still having an issue getting a successful boot.

Posted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 5:48 am
by maynard
Well I finally got it working it was a DHCP problem. I found a tutorial online on how to run two DHCP servers on the same network with different subnets on the same network on the internet. So I have almost everything working.

Just a couple of more things to work out......I cant seem to get audio over HDMI working. I have analog audio working perfectly just no HDMI audio yet. Also, has anyone managed to get the Unichrome drivers to work in Minimyth? The onboard Mpeg2 acceleration would be great, and openchrome doesn't yet support that.

Posted: Wed Jul 02, 2008 5:44 pm
by Pablo
maynard wrote:Well I finally got it working it was a DHCP problem. I found a tutorial online on how to run two DHCP servers on the same network with different subnets on the same network on the internet. So I have almost everything working.
I am glad that you got it working.
Just a couple of more things to work out......I cant seem to get audio over HDMI working. I have analog audio working perfectly just no HDMI audio yet.
ALSA support for audio over HDMI is sporadic at best. Do you know of anyone that has it working with Linux?
Also, has anyone managed to get the Unichrome drivers to work in Minimyth? The onboard Mpeg2 acceleration would be great, and openchrome doesn't yet support that.
The Unichrome driver does not contain XvMC MPEG2 hardware acceleration: http://unichrome.sourceforge.net/faq.html and http://wiki.openchrome.org/tikiwiki/tik ... openChrome.

Posted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 11:17 am
by djluko
maynard wrote:Well I finally got it working it was a DHCP problem. I found a tutorial online on how to run two DHCP servers on the same network with different subnets on the same network on the internet. So I have almost everything working.
Could you explain what the DHCP problem was in more detail? I've got the same issue here, I'm almost certain it's a DHCP issue but can't seem to work it out either.

Cheers
Luke

Posted: Sat Jul 12, 2008 3:53 am
by maynard
I am pretty sure that my router was not allowing the computer to refresh the IP so soon. It would get the correct IP the first time it configured the DHCP and I could ping the computer but not get into it. When it configured the DHCP the second time it would get past it in the status line but I wouldn't be able to ping the computer or see the computer in the routers status screen. I initially found a tutorial on the internet for using two DHCP servers on the same network and got that setup and POOF Minimyth worked!!!! Since then I was getting some IP conflicts on the network so I blocked the DHCP port on the router since i wasn't able to disable the routers internal DHCP server. Everything is working fine now.