Trying to upgrade from 0.20.2-43 to 0.20.2-59

Help with booting MiniMyth

Moderator: Pablo

Post Reply
osy
Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 11:06 pm
Location: Finland

Trying to upgrade from 0.20.2-43 to 0.20.2-59

Post by osy » Sun Nov 02, 2008 7:59 pm

I have a 0.20 backend, an AMD/NVIDIA based frontend and an EPIA M9000 based one. After months of sticking with the 0.20.2-43, I decided I will give the 0.20.2-59 a try. A few minimyth.conf variables had changed but modifying those according to the changelog was not a biggie. But what seems to be difficut is to get either frontend to get beyond the "database not found" dialogue which starts with the language setting screen. And all the db settings *are correct* in the page two of the settings. Confirming those settings takes me to busybox login prompt.

I do not see any errors in the messages log file and no error log is even generated.

Have you seen this happening in when upgrading to one of the new versions lately?

Pablo, would there be any intermediate releases from between these two to try, in order to isolate the problem?

Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 4182
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am
Location: La Jolla
Contact:

Post by Pablo » Sun Nov 02, 2008 8:46 pm

Could you telnet in as user 'minimyth', run 'xinit' in the telnet window and look at the output when you take the actions that cause the crash?
MiniMyth running on an Acer ApireRevo 3610 and a Zotac ZBOX-ID80-U. Find out more at my MythTV page.

osy
Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 11:06 pm
Location: Finland

Post by osy » Sun Nov 02, 2008 9:08 pm

Hi,
tried it after the X had crashed and there is lot of output like this in the xinit output:

Code: Select all

PORT=5900
2008-11-02 22:02:28.115 Using runtime prefix = /usr
2008-11-02 22:02:28.133 DPMS is disabled.
2008-11-02 22:02:28.136 New DB connection, total: 1
2008-11-02 22:02:28.137 Unable to connect to database!
2008-11-02 22:02:28.137 No error type from QSqlError?  Strange...
2008-11-02 22:02:28.189 DB Error (KickDatabase):
Query was:
SELECT NULL;
No error type from QSqlError?  Strange...
2008-11-02 22:02:28.240 Unable to connect to database!
2008-11-02 22:02:28.240 No error type from QSqlError?  Strange...
2008-11-02 22:02:28.292 DB Error (KickDatabase):
Query was:
SELECT NULL;
Does it tell you something? Has the database interface changed somehow between these two versions?

I forgot to mention it is the ram-minimyth I have been using with the both frontends.

osy
Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 11:06 pm
Location: Finland

Post by osy » Mon Nov 03, 2008 7:24 pm

Pablo, did you actually mean I should start xinit from the telnet session before the crash and then monitor the output? It is not possible via telnet because X is running at that point of time (when the setup dialogue is being shown). I also tried running xinit from the frontend command line after the first crash. It just goes back to the settings dialogue.

Is there a way to capture all the output from the xinit command? Doing "xinit > x.log" seems to miss a lot from the beginning of the output. Anyway, by stopping the startup manually, I was able to get these lines, the first ones referring to problems with the db:

Code: Select all

The VNC desktop is:      tv2:0
QSqlDatabase: QMYSQL3 driver not loaded
QSqlDatabase: available drivers: (null)
QSqlQuery::exec: database not open
QSqlQuery::exec: database not open
Does this "QMYSQL3 driver not loaded" give any hints?

Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 4182
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am
Location: La Jolla
Contact:

Post by Pablo » Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:37 am

osy wrote:Pablo, did you actually mean I should start xinit from the telnet session before the crash and then monitor the output? It is not possible via telnet because X is running at that point of time (when the setup dialogue is being shown). I also tried running xinit from the frontend command line after the first crash. It just goes back to the settings dialogue.
Sorry, I was not clear. I meant telnet/ssh into the frontend as user 'minimyth', kill the GUI by killing the process 'minimyth', and run xinit. That way, you could see the output in the telnet/ssh window.
Anyway, by stopping the startup manually, I was able to get these lines, the first ones referring to problems with the db:

Code: Select all

The VNC desktop is:      tv2:0
QSqlDatabase: QMYSQL3 driver not loaded
QSqlDatabase: available drivers: (null)
QSqlQuery::exec: database not open
QSqlQuery::exec: database not open
Does this "QMYSQL3 driver not loaded" give any hints?
Yes, that error message points to the problem. I have removed Myth 0.20 support from the build system. However, when people asked for updated versions of MiniMyth with Myth 0.20, I re-added it. However, I missed the part of the build script that includes the Qt 3.x MySQL plugin when building with Myth 0.20.

I have fixed that problem and uploaded a test version: http://minimyth.org/download/test/latest-0.20/. Could you let me know whether or not you encounter any other problems with it?
MiniMyth running on an Acer ApireRevo 3610 and a Zotac ZBOX-ID80-U. Find out more at my MythTV page.

osy
Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 11:06 pm
Location: Finland

Post by osy » Tue Nov 04, 2008 6:53 pm

Yes, it works nicely now. Tested with the newer (AMD/Nvidia) machine, but I do not expect problems with the M9000 either.

Big thanks Pablo for the great work!

osy
Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 11:06 pm
Location: Finland

Other issues

Post by osy » Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:57 pm

Well, I forgot to cross my fingers before starting up the EPIA M9000 frontend: it does boot up all the way to the main menu, but after that it only recognises one (1) key press from the remote (plus the powerdown action).

-----

This is now obviously off-topic under the Booting subject:

If I press OK it proceeds correctly to live TV, but the picture is quite jerky and no further key presses are recognised. If I choose to press the arrow key to go down in the menu, the focus is moved one step and the the UI is completely stuck.

Pressing the power-off button in the remote causes power-off to start but X will never actually die.

Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 4182
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am
Location: La Jolla
Contact:

Post by Pablo » Wed Nov 05, 2008 1:27 am

Could you telnet in as user 'minimyth', kill the 'mythfrontend' process and run 'xinit'? If you do this do you see anything in the output when you are having the problems that might point to the problem? For example, is MythTV failing to use XvMC-VLD?

Also, in another telnet window, could you run top to see whether or not the CPU load is high?
MiniMyth running on an Acer ApireRevo 3610 and a Zotac ZBOX-ID80-U. Find out more at my MythTV page.

osy
Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 11:06 pm
Location: Finland

Post by osy » Wed Nov 05, 2008 8:02 pm

OK, my report last night was not very accurate: I realised now that the frontend keeps responsive as long as I do not go to the live TV, the recordings or the programme guide. For example, I can listen to music, stream video, browse the web and even use the MythVideo without any problems.

This is a top listing when I tried to get in to the list of recorded programmes, i.e. immediately after selecting the "Watch Recordings":

Code: Select all

2401 minimyth  20   0  138m  22m  14m R 38.5  4.7  46:29.74 mythfrontend
1962 root      20   0  2388  496  404 R 37.5  0.1  45:18.57 klogd
 613 root      20   0  2388  444  368 R 23.6  0.1  28:14.32 syslogd
The display does not get updated at all but just stays frozen in the menu in this situation. The same happens if I try to get to the programme guide

I was able to catch these lines from the xinit output:

Code: Select all

(--) CHROME(0): Timed 3DNow! YUV420 copy... 4493965. Throughput: 123.2 MiB/s.
(--) CHROME(0): Ditching   MMX2 YUV420 copy. Not supported by CPU.
Freed 7683200 (pool 2)
(--) CHROME(0): Using 3DNow! YUV42X copy for video.
(II) CHROME(0): [XvMC] Registering chromeXvMC.
(II) CHROME(0): [XvMC] Initialized XvMC extension.
(II) CHROME(0): - Done
...so, I suppose the XvMC should be loaded correctly. And anyway, the problem does not seem to be related to video playback.

osy
Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 11:06 pm
Location: Finland

solved: my mistake!

Post by osy » Thu Nov 06, 2008 9:40 pm

Well, it was me messing up with new frontend specific directories that caused the M9000 not to function properly.:oops:

I have been using NFS to share the themecache directory and now that I created a new directory for the M9000 files I forgot to change the related share to point to the new location. The other frontend was ok, as it had been running off its dedicated directory already before.

Thanks Pablo for your help in getting things sorted out!
Diskless frontends: Biostar TF7050-M2 & ASUS AT5IONT-I
Backend: MythTV 0.25 on a Mythbuntu 12.04 based Gigabyte M61P-S3 + 2x Hauppauge WinTV Nova-T 500

Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 4182
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am
Location: La Jolla
Contact:

Post by Pablo » Fri Nov 07, 2008 3:02 pm

I am glad that you were able to track down and fix the problem.
MiniMyth running on an Acer ApireRevo 3610 and a Zotac ZBOX-ID80-U. Find out more at my MythTV page.

Post Reply