Booting trunk Version fails on Frontend

Help with booting MiniMyth

Moderator: Pablo

Post Reply
paulin
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 10:30 pm
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Booting trunk Version fails on Frontend

Post by paulin » Wed Jan 28, 2009 10:55 pm

I've been using the minimyth trunk 19640 64b2 version and trying to get it booting. My backend server is running Myth trunk rev 19647. When I boot up the frontend loads and I see the loading progress on the frontend screen. Then it goes away and reports the error

No more processes left in this run level

I've checked in /var/log and I don't see any log messages with errors. I also don't see a frontend log file.

Any ideas what I should look into. Not sure what to look for at this point.

Thanks
steve

Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 4182
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am
Location: La Jolla
Contact:

Post by Pablo » Thu Jan 29, 2009 5:00 am

You could try running 'xinit' while telnetted in as user 'minimyth'.
MiniMyth running on an Acer ApireRevo 3610 and a Zotac ZBOX-ID80-U. Find out more at my MythTV page.

paulin
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 10:30 pm
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Post by paulin » Wed Feb 04, 2009 11:23 pm

Well I finally got around to trying the xinit. I spit out a ton and then started to load the Myth Frontend UI. When it hit that the log was sitting at this:

Code: Select all

(II) Setting vga for screen 0.
(II) Initializing built-in extension MIT-SHM
(II) Initializing built-in extension XInputExtension
(II) Initializing built-in extension XTEST
(II) Initializing built-in extension XKEYBOARD
(II) Initializing built-in extension XINERAMA
(II) Initializing built-in extension XFIXES
(II) Initializing built-in extension XFree86-Bigfont
(II) Initializing built-in extension RENDER
(II) Initializing built-in extension RANDR
(II) Initializing built-in extension DAMAGE
(II) Loading sub module "GLcore"
(II) LoadModule: "GLcore"
(II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/extensions//libGLcore.so
(II) Module GLcore: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
        compiled for 1.4.2, module version = 1.0.0
        ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 0.3
(II) GLX: Initialized MESA-PROXY GL provider for screen 0
(**) Option "SendCoreEvents"
(**) event0: always reports core events
(**) event0: Device: "/dev/input/event0"
(II) event0: Found keys
(II) event0: Configuring as keyboard
(II) evaluating device (event0)
(II) XINPUT: Adding extended input device "event0" (type: KEYBOARD)
(**) Option "xkb_rules" "base"
(**) event0: xkb_rules: "base"
(**) Option "xkb_model" "evdev"
(**) event0: xkb_model: "evdev"
(**) Option "xkb_layout" "us"
(**) event0: xkb_layout: "us"
(II) CHROME(0): ViaTVPower: On.
(II) CHROME(0): VT1622Power

The VNC desktop is:      zombieTV:0
PORT=5900
(II) CHROME(0): VIAAdjustFrame
(II) CHROME(0): VIAAdjustFrame
Then all of a sudden the frontend went away and this was the next set of messages.

Code: Select all

waiting for X server to shut down X connection to :0.0 broken (explicit kill or
server shutdown).
(II) event0: Close
(II) CHROME(0): ViaTVPower: On.
(II) CHROME(0): VT1622Power
(II) CHROME(0): VIACloseScreen
(II) CHROME(0): [drm] Cleaning up DMA ring-buffer.
(II) CHROME(0): [drm] Freeing agp memory
(II) CHROME(0): [drm] Releasing agp module
(II) CHROME(0): [drm] removed 1 reserved context for kernel
(II) CHROME(0): [drm] unmapping 8192 bytes of SAREA 0xdeafd000 at 0xb5c2b000
(II) CHROME(0): [drm] Closed DRM master.
Freed 5532544 (pool 1)
(II) CHROME(0): [drm] IRQ handler uninstalled.
(II) CHROME(0): VIARestore
(II) CHROME(0): VT162xRestore
(II) CHROME(0): ViaDisablePrimaryFIFO
(II) CHROME(0): VIAUnmapMem
FreeFontPath: FPE "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/misc" refcount is 2, should be 1; fixing.
Any thoughts. What should I try next.

steve

paulin
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 10:30 pm
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Post by paulin » Wed Feb 04, 2009 11:28 pm

One other thought. Currently on this frontend I don't have a VDPAU enable card (it's in the backend right now). Could that be causing this?

steve

Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 4182
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am
Location: La Jolla
Contact:

Post by Pablo » Thu Feb 05, 2009 12:23 am

Is mythfrontend sending anything to console or to /var/log/messages?
MiniMyth running on an Acer ApireRevo 3610 and a Zotac ZBOX-ID80-U. Find out more at my MythTV page.

paulin
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 10:30 pm
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Post by paulin » Thu Feb 05, 2009 10:55 pm

Nope. Only thing I see is what I posted. The Xorg.log and dmesg don't show anything.

I can't explain it and not sure what else to try...

steve

Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 4182
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am
Location: La Jolla
Contact:

Post by Pablo » Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:34 am

You might try updating to a newer version of trunk.
MiniMyth running on an Acer ApireRevo 3610 and a Zotac ZBOX-ID80-U. Find out more at my MythTV page.

Post Reply