Page 1 of 1

How to disable graphic startup?

Posted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 10:30 pm
by Grant_Edwards
When I boot MiniMyth on my Mac Mini, I see:

INIT: verson 2.86 booting
INIT: Entering runlevel: 5

Then nothing.

I can ping the box, so I know that the DHCP client ran OK. I
can't ssh into the box, so I suspect it's unable to mount the
minimyth root device (a USB flash drive). But, I can't figure
out how to confirm that.

How to I shut off the eye-candy so that I can see the normal
init/startup messages?

--
Grant

Posted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 11:25 pm
by Pablo
If the kernel loglevel is set to greater than 3 on the boot line, then MiniMyth should disable the splash screen.

Also, when MiniMyth fails to boot, it attempts to start a console on tty1 and a telnet server. Therefore you may be able to connect up that way. If the problem is a problem with mounting the FLASH drive, then both the console and telnet server should be running.

Posted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 11:56 pm
by Grant_Edwards
Brilliant!

setting loglevel did it. I had put "debug" on the kernel
command line -- according to the docs I had found, that was
supposed to be the same as loglevel=7, but it apparently isn't.

After setting loglevel=7, I'm now getting the normal kernel
startup messages, and then a login prompt. I can log in both
via the console and via ssh.

telnetd was probably running, but it didn't occur to me to try
telnet after ssh failed. If don't put video=vesafb on the
kernel command line, then I don't seem to get any console
output -- presumably the default linux console driver doesn't
support the Mac Mini. I'm not sure why the framebuffer console
works but the graphical framebuffer stuff doesn't.

In any case, the "minimyth" directory on the USB flash drive is
being mounted and /var/log/minimyth.log now looks like this:

Code: Select all

minimyth: configuring shared libraries ...
minimyth: starting loopback network interface ...
minimyth: starting DHCP client ...
minimyth: loading kernel modules (automatic) ...
minimyth: fetching configuration file  ...
minimyth: waiting for directory /minimyth to mount ...
minimyth: waiting for directory /minimyth to mount ...
minimyth: waiting for directory /minimyth to mount ...
minimyth: waiting for directory /minimyth to mount ...
minimyth: waiting for directory /minimyth to mount ...
minimyth: checking for obsolete variables ...
minimyth: starting DHCP client ...
minimyth: processing configuration file ...
minimyth: loading kernel modules (manual) ...
minimyth: starting system logging ...
Use of uninitialized value in numeric ne (!=) at /etc/rc.d/init/security.pm line 33.
Use of uninitialized value in numeric ne (!=) at /etc/rc.d/init/security.pm line 33.
minimyth: starting CPU frequency scaling ...
minimyth: starting virtual console ...
minimyth: starting telnet server ...
minimyth: configuring ssh server ...
minimyth: starting ssh server ...
minimyth: starting cron ...
minimyth: configuring MythTV master backend communication ...
DBI connect('database=mythconverg;host=','mythtv',...) failed: Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/tmp/mysql.sock' (2) at /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.10.0/MiniMyth.pm line 560
minimyth: cannot connect to the MythTV master backend database.
Exiting eval via last at /etc/rc.d/rc.pl line 84.
minimyth: init failed. check '/var/log/messages' for further details.
I don't have a master backend on the network at the moment (and
haven't configured an address for one), so it looks like things
are working except for the framebuffer graphics.

I'd like to try to get X working before I relocate the box to a
location where it can talk to a backend, but it doesn't look
like that's an option?

There is one other odd thing: the Mac sits there for about 30
seconds spinning its wheels before starting either lilo or
grub. If the USB flash drive is plugged in, I can see its
activiity light flash about once every 2 seconds during that
time. I'm not sure what the box is doing for that 30 seconds
or how to tell it to skip right to the boot loader. It's
probably a long-shot in this forum, but if anybody here knows
how get rid of the 30-second delay, let me know.