VFS: unable to mount rootfs on unknown-block(1,0)

Help with booting MiniMyth

Moderator: Pablo

Post Reply
GloomyTrousers
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 8:11 pm
Location: York,UK
Contact:

VFS: unable to mount rootfs on unknown-block(1,0)

Post by GloomyTrousers » Thu Jul 22, 2010 7:54 pm

Hi,

I've just upgraded my MM box (ram-minimyth) from 0.22.0-73b2-x86_64 to 0.23.0-73b11-x86_64 and cannot get it to boot. The error is "Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: unable to mount rootfs on unknown-block(1,0)" (immediately after loading the initrd).

I found one old thread but I'm guessing it's outdated; I can't see how to change the kernel parameters when doing an automated install. Can anyone shed any light on where I should be looking?

Thanks,

Russ

pleeke
Contributor
Posts: 203
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 10:25 pm

Re: VFS: unable to mount rootfs on unknown-block(1,0)

Post by pleeke » Sat Jul 24, 2010 9:17 am

just a thought, but when you extracted the root filesystem are you sure you did it as root user? Think it needs to be done as root to create some of the dev nodes (or something) correctly

GloomyTrousers
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 8:11 pm
Location: York,UK
Contact:

Re: VFS: unable to mount rootfs on unknown-block(1,0)

Post by GloomyTrousers » Sat Jul 24, 2010 9:47 am

Yeah, I ran "sudo ./mm_local_install ..." and there were no errors reported. IIRC if you run the install script as a normal user it throws various errors.

Thanks,

Russ

kdewaal
Contributor
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 8:06 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: VFS: unable to mount rootfs on unknown-block(1,0)

Post by kdewaal » Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:41 pm

Your problem could be caused by the size of your root file system.
I have increased the size of the root file system from 96k to 128k when upgrading from 0.22 to 0.23 (option ramdisk_size=128000).
MiniMyth on Gigabyte GA-73PVM-S2H / Intel E8500 / GT520

GloomyTrousers
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 8:11 pm
Location: York,UK
Contact:

Re: VFS: unable to mount rootfs on unknown-block(1,0)

Post by GloomyTrousers » Sun Aug 01, 2010 8:47 am

Thanks! I see it's in the FAQ, but with a slightly different error message which is probably why I didn't find it.That got me up and running, at least as far as the next error ("MythContext: Connecting to backend server: 127.0.0.1:6543" new topic on the way if I can't resolve it)...

Russ

Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 4182
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am
Location: La Jolla
Contact:

Re: VFS: unable to mount rootfs on unknown-block(1,0)

Post by Pablo » Tue Aug 03, 2010 3:25 pm

GloomyTrousers wrote:Thanks! I see it's in the FAQ, but with a slightly different error message which is probably why I didn't find it.
It appears that the error message from the kernel was changed slightly. I have updated the FAQ.
MiniMyth running on an Acer ApireRevo 3610 and a Zotac ZBOX-ID80-U. Find out more at my MythTV page.

GloomyTrousers
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 8:11 pm
Location: York,UK
Contact:

Re: VFS: unable to mount rootfs on unknown-block(1,0)

Post by GloomyTrousers » Sat Aug 14, 2010 9:03 am

Just a thought: would it make sense to have "ramdisk_size=128000" the default, at least for those versions which require it (guessing x86_64)?

Russ

Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 4182
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am
Location: La Jolla
Contact:

Re: VFS: unable to mount rootfs on unknown-block(1,0)

Post by Pablo » Wed Sep 22, 2010 4:15 pm

I have increased the ramdisk size to 128000 in the documentation and committed the change to SVN.
MiniMyth running on an Acer ApireRevo 3610 and a Zotac ZBOX-ID80-U. Find out more at my MythTV page.

GloomyTrousers
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 8:11 pm
Location: York,UK
Contact:

Re: VFS: unable to mount rootfs on unknown-block(1,0)

Post by GloomyTrousers » Sat Sep 17, 2011 5:02 pm

FYI, with version 0.24.1-77-x86_64, ramdisk_size=128000 is not quite large enough to fit the "rootfs" file, which is now 129.5MB. I've increased it to 160000 which should be plenty and it now works.

Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 4182
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am
Location: La Jolla
Contact:

Re: VFS: unable to mount rootfs on unknown-block(1,0)

Post by Pablo » Mon Nov 21, 2011 7:07 pm

Thank you. I have updated the documentation to reflect the larger image size. I changed it from 128000 to 192000.
MiniMyth running on an Acer ApireRevo 3610 and a Zotac ZBOX-ID80-U. Find out more at my MythTV page.

Post Reply