Supported HDMI PCI-e graphic card with working sound?

Ask for hardware advice here

Moderator: Pablo

Post Reply
Specky
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 10:49 am

Supported HDMI PCI-e graphic card with working sound?

Post by Specky » Sat Jul 26, 2008 8:49 pm

I'm searching an HDMI graphic card with supported sound for my minimyth box. Fanless of course :)

Which one will work?

e.g. sapphire ATI Radeon HD 3450

or

MSI GF NX8500GT-MTD256EH?

I have no idea :?

Specky
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 10:49 am

Post by Specky » Wed Jul 30, 2008 10:35 pm

Now, I just installed the

MSI GF NX8500GT-MTD256EH

Card with SP/DIF in and HDMI out. The SP/DIF is connected with my Soundblasters SP/DIF output. But I get no sound :-(

How do I convince the MSI card to pass through the sound?

Specky
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 10:49 am

Post by Specky » Sun Aug 03, 2008 9:56 pm

Just found a hint:
No. It's not an ALSA issue but an nvidia issue. They need to fix their driver.
That sounds not really good :cry:

Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 4182
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am
Location: La Jolla
Contact:

Post by Pablo » Mon Aug 04, 2008 1:05 am

Specky wrote:Just found a hint:
No. It's not an ALSA issue but an nvidia issue. They need to fix their driver.
That sounds not really good :cry:
NVidia expects to include it in the 177.* driver release: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthr ... DMI&page=3.
MiniMyth running on an Acer ApireRevo 3610 and a Zotac ZBOX-ID80-U. Find out more at my MythTV page.

Specky
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 10:49 am

Post by Specky » Sat Oct 11, 2008 4:07 pm

Pablo wrote: NVidia expects to include it in the 177.* driver release
The final 177.80 driver is out. Hopefully audio over hdmi is working now.
How do I integrate this driver?

Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 4182
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am
Location: La Jolla
Contact:

Post by Pablo » Sat Oct 11, 2008 4:14 pm

I recently added it to the MiniMyth build system but it is not in the default MiniMyth binary build because it drops support for some hardware and has at least one DPMS bug.

Therefore, you can add it by building the latest MiniMyth test build (59b4) from source.
MiniMyth running on an Acer ApireRevo 3610 and a Zotac ZBOX-ID80-U. Find out more at my MythTV page.

Specky
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 10:49 am

No HDMI audio passthrough with nvidia.180.18?

Post by Specky » Tue Dec 30, 2008 2:47 pm

I've just tested the build

ram-minimyth-0.21.0-62-nvidia.180.18

to see if I can get working sound throug HDMI. But I don't know how.

I did a

Code: Select all

modprobe snd-hda-intel
but I don't find any nvidia sound devices with:

Code: Select all

cat /proc/asound/cards
cat /proc/asound/pcm
cat /proc/asound/devices
cat /proc/asound/hwdep
aplay -L
What else can I do to enable the HDMI audio passthrough option?

Specky
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 10:49 am

Post by Specky » Tue Jan 06, 2009 5:35 pm

Ok I found it. Because I have a soundblaster live I had to use the ALSA:plug:iec958 device (SPDIF) as audio device in mythtv an unmute it with alsamixer.

Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 4182
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am
Location: La Jolla
Contact:

Post by Pablo » Wed Jan 07, 2009 12:05 am

Specky wrote:Ok I found it. Because I have a soundblaster live I had to use the ALSA:plug:iec958 device (SPDIF) as audio device in mythtv an unmute it with alsamixer.
MiniMyth attempts to unmute the appropriate controls, depending on the value of MM_AUDIO_TYPE. What control did you have to unmute with amixer?
MiniMyth running on an Acer ApireRevo 3610 and a Zotac ZBOX-ID80-U. Find out more at my MythTV page.

Specky
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 10:49 am

Post by Specky » Wed Jan 07, 2009 1:43 pm

I commented out the MM_AUDIO_OPTION in the client's minimyth.conf. So it has to be analog? But I also tried digital, it is working, too.
But I can't set the volume and there is no sound in xine while playing DVDs.

Do I have to change the /etc/asound.conf?

Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 4182
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am
Location: La Jolla
Contact:

Post by Pablo » Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:20 pm

Specky wrote:I commented out the MM_AUDIO_OPTION in the client's minimyth.conf. So it has to be analog? But I also tried digital, it is working, too.
Yes, MM_AUDIO_TYPE='analog' is the default.
But I can't set the volume and there is no sound in xine while playing DVDs.

Do I have to change the /etc/asound.conf?
There is a setting in the xine configuration file file '/home/minimyth/.xine/config' called 'audio.device.alsa_default_device'. It defaults, to 'default'. However, you are using plug:iec958. It is likely that setting this value to either plug:iec958 or iec958 would work. If it does, then could you let me know.

Alternatively, run the command 'cat /proc/asound/devices' you can find out which of those devices is your HDMI device. After than, that setting MM_AUDIO_CARD_NUMBER and MM_AUDIO_DEVICE_NUMBER should make it work. The numbers between the [] are the card number and device number respectively. If the text description does not provide enough information to be sure, then you may have try try all the playback devices. If this does work, then could you let me know?
MiniMyth running on an Acer ApireRevo 3610 and a Zotac ZBOX-ID80-U. Find out more at my MythTV page.

Specky
Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 10:49 am

Post by Specky » Wed Jan 07, 2009 9:00 pm

Thanks for your quick reply, Pablo!

I got sound working with xine with your tip.

But before I tell you how, I want to explain my hardware configuration to you:

SB Live SP/DIF => MSI GF NX8500GT SP/DIF => HDMI cable => PHILIPS LCD HDMI Input

With 'aplay -L' there is really no HDMI device, only the SB Live iec958 SPDIF device.

To hear sound with xine I changed these lines in /home/minimyth/.xine/config:

Code: Select all

audio.device.alsa_default_device:plug:iec958
audio.device.alsa_front_device:plug:iec958
audio.output.speaker_arrangement:Stereo 2.0
How do I get these changes saved permantly in my pxe-config? Do I have to integrate it into the boot script?

Pablo
Site Admin
Posts: 4182
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 2:13 am
Location: La Jolla
Contact:

Post by Pablo » Thu Jan 08, 2009 3:04 am

Thanks for the information. I was hoping that method two would work so that you would not need to modify your Xine config file.

To use a custom Xine config file you will need to copy the file using minimyth.pm.
MiniMyth running on an Acer ApireRevo 3610 and a Zotac ZBOX-ID80-U. Find out more at my MythTV page.

Post Reply